Avencast

Official 'Avencast - Rise of the Mage' discussion board
It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:47 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Freezes
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:01 pm
Posts: 3
The game freezes at various points. Sometimes this is on the loading screen when entering the game (after all of the intro movies), other times during play - but always within minutes. The furthest I have ever got was attempting to open the first door in the first area (after grabbing the book and staff). No error messages that I could see, though the task manager sometimes says there is a second task under the name "Avencast" running before I try to forcibly "end task" (which seems to be the only method of recovery short of cold restart). Sometimes the screen is completely black and I have to end the task blindly through memorised keyboard shortcuts - after the first few times, I moved the task manager to my second screen (which is how I noticed the mysterious second task). I tried leaving it for ~25mins idling before it had locked up, and it was still running smoothly afterwards so it seems there is indeed a trigger of some kind rather than just time passing. My version (acquired via Steam) is patched to v1.04. My graphics drivers, while not the latest are recent and as far as I know my DirectX versions are up to date.


System info:
-OS: Windows 7 (64-bit)
-RAM: 4096MB
-Video: NVidia 8800GTS
-Sound drivers: Realtek HD Audio
-Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad (Q6600) 2.40GHz
-Antivirus software: BitDefender (with firewall)


Logfile:

Program entrance(Time:0.00, free sysmem:2395)
=== SystemInfo ===
Local Time: 18:30 Date: 29/04/2010
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz (2.40 GHz)
RAM: 2394/4095 MB
OS: Windows Vista/Server2008
Current directory: 'c:\program files (x86)\games\steam\steamapps\common\avencast'
==================
DXC_Gfx initialised(Time:0.17, free sysmem:2392)
game.cfg loaded(Time:0.18, free sysmem:2392)
Window init(Time:0.22, free sysmem:2391)
Realtek audio card found - switched to software device(Time:0.24, free sysmem:2390)
DXC Objects created(Time:0.24, free sysmem:2390)
=== D3D Info ===
DX version: at least 9.0 (with d3dx9_30.dll)
Driver: nvd3dum.dll
Description: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
Driver version: 524305.730517
Driver ID's: 4318 403 69210334 0
PS: 3.0
VS: 3.0
================
DXC_Gfx init(Time:1.34, free sysmem:2339)
Free video mem: 2075 MB(Time:1.35, free sysmem:2337)
DXC_Input init(Time:1.56, free sysmem:2376)
DXC_Keybord init(Time:1.69, free sysmem:2371)
DXC_Mouse init(Time:1.74, free sysmem:2371)
Fonts init(Time:1.93, free sysmem:2371)
OpenAL sound device with 32 resources created(Time:6.19, free sysmem:2335)
VMR9 VideoPlayer initilised(Time:6.20, free sysmem:2335)
Program init(Time:6.20, free sysmem:2334)
Avencast Version: v1.04 - Tue May 6 10:37:56 2008(Time:6.36, free sysmem:2333)
GameCtrl created(Time:6.49, free sysmem:2322)
PlayVideo: sequences\clockstone_logoanima.wmv at pos:-1.0(Time:6.68, free sysmem:2317)
PlayVideo: sequences\avencast_logoanima.wmv at pos:-1.0(Time:9.53, free sysmem:2304)
Combos loaded(Time:13.17, free sysmem:2298)
Inputs created(Time:13.18, free sysmem:2298)
Shaders loaded(Time:13.75, free sysmem:2275)
Actions loaded(Time:14.07, free sysmem:2267)
Strategies loaded(Time:14.12, free sysmem:2267)
View init(Time:14.17, free sysmem:2266)
Sounds loaded(Time:14.33, free sysmem:2242)
Gui field init(Time:15.45, free sysmem:2249)
item.cfg files loaded(Time:15.48, free sysmem:2249)
General Items loaded(Time:15.59, free sysmem:2249)
Treasure list loaded(Time:15.60, free sysmem:2249)
Trying to start game menu(Time:15.61, free sysmem:2249)
Game menu gui initialised(Time:15.64, free sysmem:2249)
Save game list loaded(Time:15.64, free sysmem:2249)
PlayVideo: sequences/Seq1_Intro.wmv at pos:-1.0(Time:24.19, free sysmem:2244)
Load game(Time:29.11, free sysmem:2277)
Start new game(Time:29.12, free sysmem:2276)
Try to load vsd file levels\seminarrooms\main_seminarrooms.vsd(Time:29.47, free sysmem:2270)
LevelStuff freed(Time:29.48, free sysmem:2268)
LoadFile() done(Time:29.92, free sysmem:2248)
Vsd textures loaded(Time:29.94, free sysmem:2248)
Floor init(Time:29.95, free sysmem:2248)
texture TexList created(Time:29.96, free sysmem:2247)
AllocLevelStuff() done(Time:31.98, free sysmem:2230)
Walls calculated(Time:32.00, free sysmem:2230)
Walls created(Time:33.61, free sysmem:2222)
VSD file 'levels\seminarrooms\main_seminarrooms.vsd' loaded(Time:33.63, free sysmem:2222)
Anicycle set 'Human' loaded (0.12 sec)(Time:34.89, free sysmem:2147)
Anicycle set 'Severin' loaded (0.11 sec)(Time:36.14, free sysmem:2058)
Anicycle set 'Gorlin' loaded (0.02 sec)(Time:36.92, free sysmem:2009)
Anicycle set 'Human2' loaded (0.01 sec)(Time:37.26, free sysmem:2000)
Anicycle set 'Imp' loaded (0.03 sec)(Time:38.07, free sysmem:1990)
Anicycle set 'Rat' loaded (0.02 sec)(Time:39.02, free sysmem:1947)
VSD objects loaded (1840)(Time:39.19, free sysmem:1938)
Wall object added loaded(Time:39.20, free sysmem:1938)
Vsd objects added(Time:39.21, free sysmem:1938)
Light map calculated(Time:39.23, free sysmem:1937)
Level levels\seminarrooms\main_seminarrooms.vsd loaded with hero at pos (3129,2148)(Time:39.26, free sysmem:1934)
Warning:WorldCtrl: Areas covered by more than 3 visibility objects(Time:42.86, free sysmem:1920)
Visibility map calculated(Time:42.87, free sysmem:1920)


-Z


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezes
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 8:41 am 
Offline
Kyranian Master

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:21 pm
Posts: 353
Hi Zadok!

Thanks for reporting this issue.
This second task you mentioned is strange indeed. What is the name of the .exe of these processes (as can be seen with the task manager)?

Have you tried to disable your Anti-Virus & Firewall? Please also try to disable the sound and the videos using the Options.exe.

Please let us know,
Cheers,
Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezes
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:01 pm
Posts: 3
PROBLEM SOLVED
In the previous post all "tasks" mentioned were actually applications, my apologies. The second application was the "Avencast has stopped working..." MS bug report window, but it was hidden behind a black screen until I did a bit of a workaround. I first disabled videos (which did not work), then I disabled sound (again no effect), so I reenabled sound. Next I disabled BitDefender, and that seemed to solve the problem - no freezes since then. Sequentially reenabling features narrowed the problem down to the firewall specifically. I include the following in order to aid anyone else who experiences the same problem, feel free to quote or copy & paste it:

Problem:
Game freezes at various points, including as at 100% progress on loading screens, or in-game, due to "BitDefender Internet Security 2010" firewall.

Solutions:
A) Manually enable BitDefender's "game mode" before playing (remember to disable it afterwards)
B) Add Avencast to BitDefender's "games list", so BitDefender automatically enters "game mode" upon launching Avencast

To add a Avencast (or any other program) to the games list:
1. Open BitDefender control program (right-click BitDefender icon in the system tray, then select "show")
2. Go to the "Game/Laptop Mode" tab on the list on the left
3. Staying on the "Game Mode" tab at the top, select the "Manage Games" button
4. Select the small "+" button near the top right of this box (below and to the left of the "x" to close the window)
5. Select the "Browse" button
6. Find Avencast.exe through your system folders, select it and click "Open"
7. Select "OK" on the top window and again on the one below it, then close the BitDefender window. All done!

-Z


Last edited by Zadok13 on Tue May 04, 2010 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezes
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 4:47 pm 
Offline
Kyranian Master

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:21 pm
Posts: 353
Hi Zadok,

Thanks for this valuable contribution to the Avencast community. I find it weird that a firewall can crash the game though. We ran the game with different firwalls without problems. In fact Avencast itself does not send or receive any data through the network. For some reason video drivers and/or codecs that are used by Avencast seem to cause some network traffic for some reason we don't know.

Thanks,

Cheers,
Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezes
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:01 pm
Posts: 3
True enough, it does seem unusual that a firewall would cause such problems, especially for an offline game. That said, it was remiss of me to neglect checking antivirus & firewall before posting - at least something was learned though.

-Z


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezes
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:28 pm
Posts: 1
Hello;I am using Kasperky antivirus but i have no problems with Avencast.I can say that Kasperky helped me a lot all the time;I realised that it is the first in tip ten best antiviruses best antivirus software
have a nice day


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezes
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:38 am 
Offline
Adept
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:25 pm
Posts: 15
kaspersky..nice

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group