Avencast

Official 'Avencast - Rise of the Mage' discussion board
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:13 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 7:17 pm 
Offline
Adept

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 5
Bought this through steam and as that autopatches for you, i have version 1.04.
I played this for a bit the other night after getting it, now that I come to try and load my saved progress, in the Academy crypt, the game crashes just as the progress bar hits 100%.
Black screen, little white box, Avencast.exe has stopped working. then i get dumped back to windows.

Using,
Windows 7 Pro x64 with DirectX 11
AMD Phenom 2 quad core 3.2GHz
6G memory.
Ati Radeon 4890

Logfile gives me...

Program entrance(Time:0.00, free sysmem:3515)
=== SystemInfo ===
Local Time: 18:55 Date: 06/05/2010
CPU: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor (3.20 GHz)
RAM: 3515/0 MB
OS: Windows Vista/Server2008
Current directory: 'c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\avencast'
==================
DXC_Gfx initialised(Time:0.12, free sysmem:3512)
game.cfg loaded(Time:0.12, free sysmem:3512)
Window init(Time:0.16, free sysmem:3510)
DXC Objects created(Time:0.17, free sysmem:3509)
=== D3D Info ===
DX version: at least 9.0 (with d3dx9_30.dll)
Driver: atiumdag.dll
Description: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Driver version: 524302.656060
Driver ID's: 4098 37984 654448258 0
PS: 3.0
VS: 3.0
================
DXC_Gfx init(Time:0.73, free sysmem:3442)
Free video mem: 3822 MB(Time:0.73, free sysmem:3442)
DXC_Input init(Time:0.79, free sysmem:3444)
DXC_Keybord init(Time:0.96, free sysmem:3491)
DXC_Mouse init(Time:0.97, free sysmem:3490)
Fonts init(Time:1.00, free sysmem:3494)
OpenAL sound device with 32 resources created(Time:1.12, free sysmem:3485)
VMR9 VideoPlayer initilised(Time:1.12, free sysmem:3485)
Program init(Time:1.12, free sysmem:3485)
Avencast Version: v1.04 - Tue May 6 10:37:56 2008(Time:1.13, free sysmem:3475)
GameCtrl created(Time:1.16, free sysmem:3478)
PlayVideo: sequences\clockstone_logoanima.wmv at pos:-1.0(Time:1.21, free sysmem:3480)
PlayVideo: sequences\avencast_logoanima.wmv at pos:-1.0(Time:4.18, free sysmem:3459)
Combos loaded(Time:6.44, free sysmem:3432)
Inputs created(Time:6.44, free sysmem:3432)
Shaders loaded(Time:6.88, free sysmem:3408)
Actions loaded(Time:7.12, free sysmem:3391)
Strategies loaded(Time:7.16, free sysmem:3390)
View init(Time:7.20, free sysmem:3427)
Sounds loaded(Time:7.25, free sysmem:3404)
Gui field init(Time:8.11, free sysmem:3395)
item.cfg files loaded(Time:8.14, free sysmem:3394)
General Items loaded(Time:8.24, free sysmem:3394)
Treasure list loaded(Time:8.24, free sysmem:3394)
Trying to start game menu(Time:8.24, free sysmem:3393)
Game menu gui initialised(Time:8.26, free sysmem:3394)
Save game list loaded(Time:8.26, free sysmem:3394)
PlayVideo: sequences/credits.wmv at pos:-1.0(Time:11.13, free sysmem:3398)
Trying to start game menu(Time:15.62, free sysmem:3403)
Game menu gui initialised(Time:15.64, free sysmem:3403)
Save game list loaded(Time:15.64, free sysmem:3403)
Load game(Time:31.80, free sysmem:3407)
Savegame version: v1.04(Time:31.80, free sysmem:3407)
Display mode changed to 1680x1050(Time:32.87, free sysmem:3379)
Try to load vsd file levels\gruft\main_vault.vsd(Time:33.40, free sysmem:3374)
LevelStuff freed(Time:33.40, free sysmem:3371)
LoadFile() done(Time:33.44, free sysmem:3356)
Vsd textures loaded(Time:33.44, free sysmem:3356)
Floor init(Time:33.44, free sysmem:3356)
texture TexList created(Time:33.45, free sysmem:3356)
AllocLevelStuff() done(Time:33.74, free sysmem:3342)
VSD file 'levels\gruft\main_vault.vsd' loaded(Time:33.76, free sysmem:3342)
VSD objects synchronized (48)(Time:33.77, free sysmem:3341)
LoadLevel: save\Buliwyf\save 5\gruft.cfg.ld(Time:33.78, free sysmem:3341)
Anicycle set 'Spider' loaded (0.01 sec)(Time:34.41, free sysmem:3304)
Anicycle set 'Skeleton' loaded (0.01 sec)(Time:34.59, free sysmem:3286)
Anicycle set 'Ghost' loaded (0.00 sec)(Time:34.74, free sysmem:3278)
Anicycle set 'Tertius' loaded (0.01 sec)(Time:34.83, free sysmem:3271)
Anicycle set 'Human' loaded (0.08 sec)(Time:35.32, free sysmem:3237)
Walls calculated(Time:35.83, free sysmem:3166)
Walls created(Time:35.90, free sysmem:3166)
Light map calculated(Time:35.96, free sysmem:3169)
Savegame of level levels\gruft\main_vault.vsd loaded with hero at pos (8174,7693)(Time:35.96, free sysmem:3169)
Warning:WorldCtrl: Areas covered by more than 3 visibility objects(Time:36.49, free sysmem:3139)
Visibility map calculated(Time:36.49, free sysmem:3139)
Error:DXC_Gfx: Can not set render target: D3DERR_INVALIDCALL(Time:36.52, free sysmem:3137)
DXC_Error caught. level:levels\gruft\gruft.cfg;heropos:8174,7693(Time:36.52, free sysmem:3137)
GameDeinit(Time:36.53, free sysmem:3148)
WorldCtrl freed(Time:36.55, free sysmem:3187)
WorldCtrl freed(Time:36.64, free sysmem:3327)


Any ideas? I don't get a lot of time each day to game these days, and I'm spending all that time troubleshooting :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 2:35 pm 
Offline
Kyranian Master

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:21 pm
Posts: 353
Seems to be a problem with DirectX and/or the video card.

Please make sure you install the latest DirectX9 and the latest video card drivers. Note that DirectX 11 is a separate driver, so if you install DIrectX10/11 that doesn't mean that DirectX9 is up-to-date.

Cheers,
Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 5:59 pm 
Offline
Adept

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 5
updated graphics drivers. no change
updated DX 9 from microsoft's website. no change

it's worth noting that the game worked perfectly fine last saturday. i saved my game, switched off and have never been able to get back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 5:37 pm 
Offline
Kyranian Master

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:21 pm
Posts: 353
do you have programs running in the background that might interfere? Such as a firewall or an anti-virus popping up?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 12:27 am 
Offline
Adept

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 5
I have Norton firewall running in the background. It has not proven to be a problem with anything in the past including the first time I played Avencast. Norton comes off for nothing. Not prepared to risk attacks for the sake of a game.

No other programs are popping up either. I have tried running the game both with and without Firefox running in the background. Of course Steam is running the the background, that is the platform I launch the game from, can't play without it.

The error is not a random or intermittent one. It happens at exactly the same point in time, when I load a save game and is easily replicable.

For the sake of testing, I was able to start a new game with a new character and the game appears to function fine. This strongly suggests that there is problem with save games.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 8:49 pm
Posts: 4
Hiya, I have the same problem; I cannot load any of my save games but I can make a new character, it just crashes at about 30% loading when loading a saved game. I have tried all the save games, tried without my firewall and any other programs (bar steam.)

My system:
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
DirectX 11
Intel I7 @ 3.4ghz water cooled
6gb DDR3 1600mhz
ATI Radeon HD5970 (2* displays)
1TB raid 0 array (2*500gb on an intel SASWT4I)

My copy of Avencast is 1.04, bought on steam.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 9:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 8:49 pm
Posts: 4
I found that installing the DX 9c "full package" fixes it, but I could have sworn I had allready installed Dx 9c with some other older games I had played. Sorry I should have properly tried installing DX 9c before posting. I don't actually know, but it could be that some of the distributed Dx 9c updates don't actually install it when it sees Dx11 but just put some "bits" in place, hence it worked for me when i used the "full package" when I thought I had allready installed it.

I got Dx 9c from:
http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/directx.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 10:58 pm 
Offline
Adept

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 5
The link you posted is the same as this
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... b8109cb4f5
on Microsoft's website.

It's the Developer redistribution version. After you mentioned it I tried it out. No change :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 8:49 pm
Posts: 4
Shame. I can't see any differences; we are both using win7, both have full Dx9c and Dx11 and have ATI cards with probably the latest drivers... I clearly had a problem with Dx9c not being fully installed. Perhaps you need to fully uninstall Dx9c and then reinstall from the developers redistribution version? Could it be a messed up Dx9 install stopping it from installing certain components correctly? I has no idea, but I have heard of people having to do this with ATI drivers in the past, so it isn't wildly in the realms of fantasy that it could be a problem with Dx.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 6:32 pm 
Offline
Adept

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 5
DirectX is part of windows, I don't think you can uninstall it.

Yes it's frustrating as the game seemed to be quite fun and there doesn't appear to be any sort of fix. Yay £7 down the toilet... :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 8:49 pm
Posts: 4
There probably is a way of uninstalling it, I doubt however that it is overly simple.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load Savegame Crash
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:19 am
Posts: 1
Haha! The problem is solved =) At least I think so. The one that happens at 29% of loading the save game.
The problem code explains that your monitor or graphic device does not support the requested resolution. Strange isn't it?

Now go to the game.cfg in \cfg folder and open it.

Check resX and resY values. For me they were:
resX=-1
resY=-1

Can you imagine? -1! This menas that when I changed the resolution in game the game itself actuall saved it as -1x-1 instead of 1680x1050.

So the solution as you can guess is simple. Check resX and resY values in game.cfg to the ones you desire. For me it was:
resX=1680
resY=1050

And... launch the game! Enjoy =)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group